Reviews

HD-Link, HDMI over Single Cat5 Extender, 60M

4.3 (39 reviews)

Does this work through a switch?

Anonymous - 12/6/2013 12:01:58 PM

6 found this review helpful


Pros: Does this require point-to-point connection, or will it work through a network switch?

Cons:

Other:

Company response:

It requires point-to-point connection.

6 out of 11 found this helpful.

Was this review helpful?

Success

gene - 10/27/2014 1:20:10 PM

5 found this review helpful


Pros: By using the extenders we have been able to set up a projector that is 55 feet from the computer. We are not able to stream videos and seminars. It works very well.

Cons: It has some shielding problems when it comes to flourescent lighting. One in the facility has a bad ballast and it picks up the buzz from the ballast.

Other:

5 out of 8 found this helpful.

Was this review helpful?

HD-Link

Barclay - 3/24/2014 12:31:22 PM

5 found this review helpful


Pros: Very easy to setup and works very well. This is the second set of these I have purchased in the past year.

Cons: None.

Other: I had issues with the set that I received. I contacted tech support with my issue and they sent me out a replacement set the same day with a postage paid shipping label to return the problem pair. The replacement pair worked perfectly. I appreciate the good customer service and the quality of the product. The original set I purchased last year has work perfectly with no issues and I look forward to the second set to perform equally well.

5 out of 10 found this helpful.

Was this review helpful?

Works For Me

Anonymous - 4/30/2014 10:42:27 PM

2 found this review helpful


Pros: Single cable, clear HD

Cons: Picture occasionally drops out.

Other: My installation is about 100' of Cat6 going through two wall jacks. The picture occasionally drops out - usually related to some kind of small power surge (garage door opener, washing machine, etc.). Although it says it will work over Cat5, use the best cable you can (Cat6 or shielded Cat6).

2 out of 4 found this helpful.

Was this review helpful?

Anonymous - 5/31/2015 3:50:08 PM

2 found this review helpful


Pros: easy to use and reliable

Cons:

Other:

2 out of 4 found this helpful.

Was this review helpful?

Anonymous - 12/18/2014 12:37:06 PM

2 found this review helpful


Pros: Ran 165 ft. of cat5E to our board room installed the extenders and connected to a tv the source was a lap top, up it came no problems as of yet, we just installed this.

Cons: None

Other:

2 out of 3 found this helpful.

Was this review helpful?

Nice when it works

Sped - 5/24/2014 9:44:56 AM

1 found this review helpful


Pros: When it works, it works great.

Cons: I've now had two of these die in 6 months. The first one lasted about 5 months and the second one lasted about 2 weeks.

Other: We are so sorry to hear that, you've certainly had a bad luck of the draw. The return rate for this extender system is a little above 3%, so they typically work much better than you've experienced with these. If you are willing to try another unit please let us know.

1 out of 2 found this helpful.

Was this review helpful?

Works Great

Kevin - 9/22/2014 8:26:52 PM

1 found this review helpful


Pros: Works perfectly. No issues. New house wiring with cat5 an no issues so far. Have not seen any picture issues thus far so all is good.

Cons: None!

Other:

1 out of 2 found this helpful.

Was this review helpful?

Not keeping up

Johnny Bluejeans - 9/8/2017 9:57:57 AM

1 found this review helpful


Pros: Past history has been good. But now...

Cons: This HDMI extender is not working with our newer laptops. It seems that the laptop manufacturers, in an attempt to save power, are having less power pushed out of the native HDMI ports. The Sewell device doesn't have enough boost to correct this situation. We will have to find an alternative product that works with our newer laptops.

Other:

Company response:

You may want to try with the laptop plugged into the power supply to confirm that, often even low powered USB or HDMI ports will operate at full voltage when the laptop is plugged in and charging. If that doesn't resolve the issue that makes voltage issues less likely, there may be some other problem that we could troubleshoot.

1 out of 1 found this helpful.

Was this review helpful?

Anonymous - 2/14/2014 11:23:27 AM

1 found this review helpful


Pros: Works as advertised. We tested with 206 feet of CAT 6 and had no issues.

Cons: None.

Other: Great product!

1 out of 2 found this helpful.

Was this review helpful?

Results: 39